Jump to content


Aliw Awards

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 berto


    6X Platinum

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,819 posts

Posted 20 August 2004 - 11:45 AM

Aliw Awards aired tonight on RPN 9

The Philippine Star 08/21/2004

Lea Salonga, a multi-awarded Aliw Best Child Performer, copped the Entertainer of the Year Award at the 17th Annual Aliw Awards Night held at the Westin Philippine Plaza Ballroom last week.

Lea won a tight contest over contenders Gary Valenciano, a two-time Entertainer of the Year, Ogie Alcasid, last year’s Entertainer of the Year, Regine Velasquez, Ai-Ai de las Alas, and Willie Nepomuceno, all Aliw awardees.

Other winners are: Best Dance Group (Modern) Animé, (Classical Contemporary) Philippine Ballet Theater; Best Stand-Up Comedy Act (Female) Ai-Ai de las Alas, (Male) Willie Nepomuceno; Most Promising Entertainer (Female) Sarah Geronimo, (Male) Jay R;

Best Instrumental Artist Raul Sunico; Best New Artist (Female) Karel Marquez, (Male) Eric Santos; Best Performer in Hotels, Music Lounges and Bars (Female) Nina, (Male) Nyoy Volante, (Group) Spirit of ’67;

Best Major Concert (Female), Lea Salonga–Songs from Home, (Male) Ogie Alcasid–OA at 15, (Collaboration) Rico Puno, Nonoy Zuñiga, Rey Valera, Hajii Alejandro, Marco Sison–Greatest Hits; Best Performance in a Concert (Female) Regine Velasquez, (Male) Gary Valenciano, (Group) Akafellas, (Collaboration) Kuh Ledesma, Jimmy Bondoc, Paolo Santos Night of Acoustic;

Best Musical Director Raul Mitra–The Songbird and the Songwriter; Best Concert Stage Director Bobby Garcia — Songs from Home; Best Choral Group Loboc Children’s Choir; Best Emcee Paolo Bediones; Best Stage Director Soxy Topacio; Best Non-Musical Play Production Agnoia; Best Musical Play Production Ambon … Ulan… Baha…; Best Stage Actress (Musical) May Bayot–Himala, (Non-Musical) Ama Quiambao–Casa De Bernarda Alba; Best Stage Actor (Musical) Franco Laurel–Honk, The Ugly Duckling (Non-Musical) Joel Lamangan, Ice Man Cometh, and Best Classical Performer (Female) Alegria Ferrer, (Male) Jonathan Badon.

The show was produced by Ultimate Entertainment and directed by Ronnie Henares. Major sponsors of the Awards presentation are Philippine Airlines, Ford Philippines; media partners are Manila Bulletin, Manila Times and Philippine Journalist Inc.

Taped as live, The awards night will be aired on RPN 9 tonight from 9 to 12 midnight.

#2 ChairC


    Bungi Fanatic

  • Super Admin
  • 13,338 posts

Posted 22 August 2004 - 05:36 AM

somebody received the award in behalf of Sarah.. no show sya.. may concert ata..

#3 argonoot



  • Member
  • 267 posts

Posted 22 August 2004 - 11:19 AM

lol, that is so hollywood. I feel bad for her though. When she finally gets an award, they schedule something else for her. Hopefully, she will be able to accept the awards she is being nominated for this time.

#4 reign_18



  • Member
  • 41 posts

Posted 23 August 2004 - 02:55 AM

yeah i feel bad too to know that sarah did not to take her award in person! it is very fulfilling to recieve awards personally. specially for her who has to worked hard to deserve it! :??

#5 popsterriffic

  • Member
  • 21 posts

Posted 23 August 2004 - 03:02 AM

yah i watched it last saturday and i felt shock when i heard sarah won the most promising entertainer but not personally receive the honor.... they said that she had a concert that time or whatever it is... Take enough rest Sarah...

#6 JBlight


    Hall of Famer

  • Member
  • 14,699 posts

Posted 23 August 2004 - 11:59 PM

At least we know she'll have many opportunities to accept an award. She'll probably win thousands of them when all is said and done. Like you said pops, I hope she gets adequate rest.

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users